About Us


The Minnesota Second Chance Coalition is a bipartisan 501(c)3 nonprofit consisting of hundreds of nonprofit member organizations and individuals. Collectively, we believe in second chances, the principle that persons who have been punished for crimes should have meaningful opportunities to live, work, and grow as people after serving their debts to society.

Through professional training, grassroots mobilization, and legislative outreach, our mission is to “advocate fair and responsible laws, policies, and practices . . . enabling individuals who have been involved in the criminal justice system to fully support themselves and contribute to their communities to their full potential.” Our work touches upon fair hiring, housing, voting, and sentencing practices.

2019-20 Minnesota Second Chance Coalition Officers and Board of Directors:

Pete Sutter, Esq. (President)
​Randy Anderson, BA, LADC (Vice President)
​Gina Evans (Past President)
​Amber Barnes (Treasurer; Rise, Inc.)
​Meg Gauthier (Secretary)
Betalham Benti
​Robert Stewart
​Laurie Woodard
​Beth Ross (Goodwill-Easter Seals MN)
​Emily Terrell
Julie Ditter
Lindsay Turner
Marlin Meszaros